Divvy Up

“Love could be fractured and serve different purposes, and that intense love could be divided, between people just as easily as between moments of time.” 
― Luke Davies

I have been thinking a fair bit about the preoccupation we have with relationships and how our attention can be captured by a single person, or a couple of people, often to the exclusion of other people who populate our lives. I have also been thinking about the way that people weigh particular relationships over others. This has some considerable significance when we think about estrangement.

First of all, we tend to prioritize relationships that trouble us. They grab the lion’s share of our attention, particularly when we are struggling through rocky relationship terrain. We may have ten significant relationships in our lives, but if we were to make a pie chart describing where our attention resides, these “difficult” people are the often the ones who would be taking up rent in our thoughts and emotional space. They get a big cut of our emotional/psychological pie.

We also have a tendency to weigh particular relationships more heavily than others. For instance, our family relationships are perceived as more significant than our relationships of choice. Relationships with parents or children appear to be weighted more heavily or be considered of greater importance or relevance than relationships with our siblings or extended family. Our relationships with our partners or spouses, can become more compelling than our relationships with our birth families. And so it goes.

It’s worth taking a look at how we divide up our relationship pie chart. Who gets the majority of our focus and attention? Is it the people who deserve it or is it the people who create distress, dysfunction and pain? Who do we think about, talk about, worry about? Are the healthy relationships wilting in the background of our preoccupation with the unhealthy relationships? Do these people get slivers of our pie, when they should have big slices?

Additionally, I think it is worthwhile to consider how heavily we weigh each relationship. For instance, how much power do we give any one person in our lives? Is it disproportionate? Do we blame one person, or two or however many people for our problems and unhappiness? In so doing, do we neglect to consider all the positive, affirming and life enhancing relationships that we have in our lives? Do we neglect to see our own power in the circumstances of our adult lives and relationships? Do we forget that actually we are the people who divide up our pies?

We can let ourselves off the hook a bit as well. We are not all powerful in anyone else’s life either. If they are choosing to hyper focus on us and our behaviour, it’s a choice they make. For example, I recently had a client explain to me that her children blame her for all manner of things – some legitimate, but most, not at all. She has felt very burdened by a disproportionate feeling of responsibility for her children’s thoughts, feelings and behaviour. The reality is, her children’s lives  were populated by many people. When she looked at who the main influences were in her children’s lives, she could see over a dozen significant people. She is 1/12th of her children’s relationship pie chart, yet the burden for all things problematic or negative have been assigned to her.

Yes, we can let ourselves off the hook.

We can let go of our need to carve up our relationship pie chart in ways that disadvantage our health and well being. We can decide where and on whom, we are going to spend our emotional energy. In fact, we are the only person who can make this decision. We can also put our own power and responsibility into reasonable context. Other people may try to make us into a big chunk of their problem pies. They may try to serve us their view of us as their ‘problem person’, but we don’t have to accept that huge piece of pie, and we sure don’t have to eat it.

This entry was posted in Blame, Family Estrangement Topics, Personal Responsibility, Recovery, Victimization and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Divvy Up

  1. Pamela says:

    Good one Fiona, very much appreciated. Does the pie chart include love of self? If there is no room for nurturing the one human being we have any power over, then we are slipping up. I had trouble doing that, and could only ask myself whether I would let some other person suffer what I was getting dished out. I gradually gave myself better treatment until I got used to it. Now I am actually being nice to ‘me’.

    In time I will be a large piece of that pie. I know some people who have a sense of entitlement to the entire pie!

    It is funny how our children tend to think of us only as a parent, and in their lives we do not have anything that would make us interesting human beings. I am not advocating being my daughter’s best friend, but I could actually be an interesting older woman with life-experience. As it is, I am mum who can be judged according to whether she was a good mum or not.

    I think I went off at a tangent a bit, but never mind, others will stay on target! Regards, Pamela.

    Like

    • Heather says:

      Yourself should definitely be on the chart! You can’t have healthy relationships with others if you don’t take care of yourself.

      Like

  2. Maybe-Not-Quite-So-Cynical Sue says:

    “Other people may try to make us into a big chunk of their problem pies. They may try to serve us their view of us as their ‘problem person’, but we don’t have to accept that huge piece of pie, and we sure don’t have to eat it.”

    Very true. In forcing us to eat it, we realize it tastes bad and makes us sick. In that case, we must refuse it and walk (run!) away (estrangement we choose) — a good thing, because as we recover we learn how to recognize poison fruit. Not so in the case of pie that is badly made with the wrong ingredients. When it is flung in our faces by the cook(s) (estrangements chosen for us), the most we can do is pick up the pieces and clean up the mess, but the result is not good, because the cook isn’t interested in changing the recipe and has taken his/her/their pie elsewhere, where it will indeed be consumed as is. And we have no pie.

    I think I’m just staying away from pie. Like everyone else in this world, I have just half of the recipe, and mine doesn’t seem to match up with the other half carried around by others.

    Like

  3. Lisa says:

    Pamela….. I love what you said about putting ourselves on the pie chart.. Self love is where it’s at ….I don’t get a lot of things about my particular family. There is so much thoughtlessness that goes on I wouldn’t ever ever get it. It would fill up zillions of pie charts and beyond. Not so interesting! I am learning bit by bit to turn my attention to greener pastures and it will require mucho self love. This past week I accidentally fell down a staircase and am sitting with myself black and blue, with thankfully no broken bones… Not one family member had the kindness to reach out.. I am coming out of a long dark night and I am learning some yucky truths about the way things just sometimes are. I am realising that though whatever …by family and some old friends there is a good piece of pie to fill with good old fashioned self love. I pray and believe kinder people and happy circumstances will come about as I keep growing and Learning that I can’t change my past. You think … Oh this should be so easy… So common sensical .. But evolution of the soul takes what it takes …kindness and chocolate cake! Lisa.

    Like

    • Pamela says:

      Irrelevant, irreverent comment….my taste has refined down to needing runny chocolate! No longer do I want choc cake, or a slab of hard chocolate, now it has to be rich, runny chocolate! warm!

      Happy chocolate cake to you, Lisa. Pamela

      Like

  4. Susan says:

    Thanks, Fiona. That makes sense. Before I estranged from my brother and sister, the lion’s share of my mental and emotional energy was invested in those relationships. I had tried to walk away, but kept on going back feeling, as the oldest sibling, that I was responsible for making them work. One of the bonus outcomes of walking away is that I find that I do not over invest in any of my relationships. I enjoy my children and grandchildren when they have time to be with me, but don’t feel abandoned if they don’t. I have a few close friends, but if they are not available to spend time together, I don’t have a meltdown. I guess I could describe it as having more balance in my life.

    Like

  5. SmilingSmartBlonde says:

    Fiona
    “Divvy Up” was exceptional. Thank you for being part of my healing process.

    Like

  6. livvy1234 says:

    I wrote down everything you stated in your article as a way to further engage with the truth. I am at a turning point now – a transitional space. I admit I have been neglecting life affirming relationship opportunities with others so I can obsessively think about my victimization and worn out story about estrangement. I am printing out your article to take to a meeting on transitions and turning points. Your questions and statements were on the mark. I am done with grieving about what I did or did not do “right.” I was a good enough mom.

    Like

  7. Maybe-Not-Quite-So-Cynical Sue says:

    “I am done with grieving about what I did or did not do “right.” I was a good enough mom.”

    I think that statement needs several exclamation points — like this: !!!!!

    Not sure if I obsess because I really try not to think about it. . . I’m just not ready to test other relationships right now.

    Like

    • livvy1234 says:

      I do not think I am testing other relationships. I think I am finally choosing after 6 lonely years to enjoin with the world around me. There is light in the dark, even though I would not admit it for all these years. I have spent 6 years of birthdays, holidays, and everyday without a family member. I learned a lot by being by myself – watching the world go by, how it ticks and tocks. I realize I narrowed my options for meaningful relationships with others by choice. I am at this important juncture in time. I no longer want to sit in my desert. Water is starting to seep in the dry cracks of this parched desert.

      Like

      • Maybe-Not-Quite-So-Cynical Sue says:

        That’s not how it is for me. The birthdays and holidays used to bother me but no longer, especially when I remember to whom they are connected. I don’t feel constrained by being alone, I feel released and free and unjudged and safe. But just because our paths don’t converge doesn’t mean they are the wrong paths, because we are all journeying to the same peaceful place. I hope you have? will find? the meaningful relationships that you want, and I hope they turn out to be thrilling and fulfilling.

        Like

  8. Lisa says:

    Amen and righteous amen squared to infinite degrees… Yes ! Me too! Lisa…

    Like

    • livvy1234 says:

      I did not state that are paths do not converge or that either path is the wrong path. I agree we are all journeying to the same peaceful place. I write here about what is going on with me alone. My responses reflect my estrangement journey. Others writing is a mirror for me to reflect upon my own journey at this time and juncture within the journey.

      Like

      • Maybe-Not-Quite-So-Cynical Sue says:

        My bad. Thank you for pointing it out.

        Like

      • livvy1234 says:

        No one’s bad point! LOL All of our points are vaild, wherever we are at this time and juncture. I just think I am finally do not want to look at the ashes anymore. Of course, this is where I am today, and tomorrow, I could have a “relapse” of old feelings and patterns of thinking. I accept that, too, on my journey. The good part of the journey has been the fact that I got to see how the world relates to one another outside the social unit I was born into, created children within, and lived safe and sound until…

        Estranged individuals are warriors of a sorts. Some of us decide to walk away from a lifestyle of codependent relationship..(generalizing here). Take a look at the Hallmark cards, the songs we listen to, and the cultural requirements set upon women to keep connections afloat NO MATTER WHAT…to nurture and nurture some more until we forget who we are. Writing here is flat and one dimensional. Of course this is a multi layered and multi dimensional issue. It is hard to fit my thoughts into the comment box as they are extensive on this issue.

        Like

  9. Heather says:

    thank you! This is a good reminder for me.

    Like

  10. Tynsel says:

    Like Susan, I now find I don’t over invest in other relationships either. I too think I am finding a good life balance.
    Like Livvy, I find it hard to fit into a comment box all the complexity of the feelings. I get that.

    I am the maker and the centre of my pie. I decide who gets how much. Thats’ a great analogy Fiona.

    I seem to do very well most of the time. I am only estranged from one family member. My family of origin is very dysfunctional however, and I got a text 2 days ago from my brother asking how our family had become so “broken”
    So, naturally I started to think immediately hes blaming me, (making more change back noises)
    because I detached and broke his family. Then I realized I was reacting. Just like Fiona had written.
    So, I took some time, but not a lot because i didn’t want to give him the whole pie, and turned it around.
    I now assume he was asking out of pain, and fear. His own pain and fear. I was able to send a loving, caring, reassuring email to my brother.
    Regardless how he feels upon reading it ( and i expect he will feel better) I feel infinitely better.

    If only though, I could stop allowing what they do to be triggers for me…………

    Didn’t mean to take the focus off the pie writing, just wanted to share how I was able to use what I had read here to help myself.

    Like

    • livvy1234 says:

      I am reflecting on what you wrote and what it brings up in me. I am estranged from one daughter, and a son-in-law and two grandchildren. A few months ago this list included a former spouse who recently died. My estrangement started long ago. I think I actually first was estranged from having my own self. Long story.

      Nowadays, all of sudden, after many years of grieving, and 12 years of zazen meditation (facing the wall trying to transcend myself somehow) I have decided enough is enough! Everyone is missing out on having a relationship with a fine matriarch of the family. A business enmeshment between my former spouse and son-in-law caused me to break away from all of it to figure out who I am. And I did.

      I am finding that there is still a wound, but after 6 years of total estrangement, the intensity, duration and frequency is going down. The inflammation is much less although it does exist at times. I stumble forward.
      I will not stumble backward.

      Like

  11. srephie says:

    I love the part Fiona said “Other people may try to make us into a big chunk of their problem pies. They may try to serve us their view of us as their ‘problem person’, but we don’t have to accept that huge piece of pie, and we sure don’t have to eat it.” AMEN to that! Being estranged by mutual decisions, pie made by Willly and Wonka, is not even being served on the menu in my life and it feels sooooo good!

    I was out shopping today and while I was driving it occurred to me how very lucky I am for I am “happy”. Not just content but actually happy. I found that my freedom to love me, to be me, to do what I needed to do, and wanted to do by choice with no one “dictating” what I should be doing, feeling or thinking, was such a powerful feeling. Freedom. Yes, there were a couple moments or flashbacks that occurred but they were so hmm, fleeting because I knew them, recognized them and was able to smile and shrug them off easily and continue my day, and it felt good! I chose. Yep I CHOSE to shrug them off after recognizing them and being able to decide on how much I would allow them the power affect me and it felt so good to just let them float away! This is my life and it feels so good to be able to LIVE it. I had so many years where I had allowed others to live it for me. Sad but true. And it is ok, it was THEN and this is NOW! 🙂 I am making my pie and I choose how many slices, how large the slices, and to whom I will share with. I had been told that I was wrong in having ever allowing others to share the pie ….by Willy and Wonka. Nonsense! It is MY pie …I just didn’t know it before and I had no idea it was my pie and my choice as to when, if, and who I will share it with, and I also have the choice as to whether to share someone else’s pie with them! I hate rhubarb pie! 🙂

    There are other pies that I do not share, and I do hope that in the future, we may be able to share our pies but again, if that does not happen? Shrugs……so be it. I will still have mine to share with whom I care to share with. There are many many pies being made out there and I am not going to deprive myself ever again of the choice. I will study the menus and not just jump in and agree to eat pies that I do not know with what they were made? For love of myself, I have decided the pies must have certain ingredients while ingredients I already know, make me ill, constipating me, or causing me diarrhea. My pie has the ingredients listed prior to my sharing them ,and others have the list and it is their choice if they wish to share my pie. 🙂 Stephie

    Like

  12. SmilingSmartBlonde says:

    Fiona
    Could you write about this statement that I just read in an advice column? The advice columnist said this:”… I also deplore silence as a means of ending relationships except when one party fears for his or her safety. ” The advice columnist goes on to ask the person who wrote the letter to the newspaper what she did to become aliented..how she earned it.

    I have been given the silent treatment from a few people. It points to how “difficult” they are.. It is bullying, isn’t it? I abhor bullying. I am annoyed about how society treats bullying. The root cause of the problem is the BULLY. That is how I see it. The Bully is flawed.

    Victim blaming seems to be the way most people see it when there is the “silent treatment.” Most people think about the victim- why else would that person be shut out from others? So in other words, when the silent treatment occurs, the people in the vicinity also start to become silent and also cut you out, since they perceive you as problematic.

    If the situation has to do with a legal matter, as it does in my case, and those who apply the “silent treatment” realize that the “victim” of the silent treatment (in this case -ME) cannot afford a legal defense , isn’t it doubly aggressive and triply brutal?

    The silent treatment is like a mushroom cloud where the toxity keeps growing, and you are at ground zero. Cousins, aunts, nephews, uncles, step relatives and even in laws all become distant. A divorce is tricky, and the recovery of the extended family is unlikely in some cases, but the rift from a family of origin is a rift from your past and that silent treatment ain’t silent at all.

    Can you talk much more about your thoughts about the “silent treatment”?

    Like

    • Maybe-Not-Quite-So-Cynical Sue says:

      I realize you didn’t ask me, but:

      ” If the situation has to do with a legal matter, as it does in my case, and those who apply the “silent treatment” realize that the “victim” of the silent treatment (in this case -ME) cannot afford a legal defense , isn’t it doubly aggressive and triply brutal?”

      Seems that way, but you have to consider the fact that maybe they have been advised by their attorney(s) to not say anything to you. You know, attorneys live in fear that anything their client(s) might say or do will end up as evidence against them in court. Not excusing the traitorous bums who are treating you this way, just giving you another option to consider so you won’t feel so bad.

      ” A divorce is tricky, and the recovery of the extended family is unlikely. . . but the rift from a family of origin is a rift from your past and that silent treatment ain’t silent at all.”

      You hit that nail right on the head. I soooooo understand, having been through it myself. People take sides in a divorce, and it is horrifying to think that your own family is capable of taking sides against you, their own loved one, but they can and sometimes do.

      I hope things change for you but if they don’t I hope you can comfort yourself with the knowledge that by them staying away f there is less chance of them betraying you (which makes the situation even worse. . . )

      ++hugs from one who has been there and wishes she could help++

      Like

      • SmilingSmartBlonde says:

        Thanks so much for your reply and your kindness. Tough week! Aug 22 was the anniversary of my dad’s death… and I miss my kid – it is is first week in college now and seems to ahve some transition issues. Thanks.

        Like

Leave a comment