Silence Means Goodbye?

Silence, they say, is the voice of complicity. But silence is impossible. Silence screams. Silence is a message, just as doing nothing is an act.

Leonard Peltier

I begin this post with a confession. Silence is never my first choice. I am a communicator by nature and by profession and I deeply believe in and am committed to the communication process.

All that said, across the years in my life and practice, I have learned a great deal about silence as a legitimate form of communication, no words required. We can get incredibly hung up on words, and often those of us who are most committed to communication have the hardest time hearing and responding to what is not being said. We may find ourselves waiting on words, which may never come, staying hung up on relationships which are frozen in time through lack of intentional communication.

This doesn’t mean that silent relationships don’t progress, of course they do. However, the progression is generally toward increased distance, deteriorating connection and very often emotional disconnection. If that is where you are wanting to go with a relationship, silence is perfectly viable.

One of the images I chose to use in my collage stated, “If you don’t understand my silence, you do not deserve my words.” I think we should think about that a little bit. There are a couple of things that are questionable about that statement.  For one, communication has very little to do with another person’s worth. Communication is as much something we do for ourselves as it something we do for others. We communicate not because someone is worth communicating to, but because we are worth communicating for.

Silence is not a simple statement. It is a highly complex form of communication, that no one should have to decipher. When we elect to be silent, we are in essence giving up the possibility of being understood. NO ONE knows what is in our minds or hearts and the possibilities of what may lie there, are endless. The notion that someone else should be able to correctly figure out what we mean when we turn off speech is preposterous.

It also follows that expecting ourselves to correctly interpret another person’s silence is equally as preposterous. This is both good news and bad news. The good news is that we can let ourselves off the hook. We don’t have to guess. We don’t have to consider worst case scenarios, beat ourselves up or leave ourselves to wonder. When someone else refuses to respond to our offer to communicate, we can be satisfied that we have done the best that we can, that we have held up our end of communication. We can simply acknowledge that the other person cannot or will not communicate their thoughts, feelings or experiences and move on from there.

The bad news is that if we are inclined toward using silence to communicate, we must acknowledge that we are making the choice to have our thoughts, feelings and intentions potentially misunderstood or ignored as well. We must be prepared to acknowledge that understanding and resolution will be denied to us, the relationship will invariably drift or end and that through silence, it is a choice we are making.

Professor Melissa Harris-Perry, has said:  “I feel like talking always brings us closer to understanding, rather than dividing us. It can be tough, it can be a little nauseating, we don’t always have the right vocabulary to talk across our differences, but the talking is always better than the ignoring.”

Sometimes we don’t want to communicate across difference. Sometimes it’s unsafe to communicate. Sometimes it feels pointless to communicate. Sometimes we want relationships to end. That’s legitimate. It is arguable that silence is a sure fire way to make sure that happens. I am not speaking about a “time out”or a “cooling off” period. I’m also not talking about taking needed space and time to gain clarity about what we want to say. When we need that period of time and silence, it is only responsible that we let others know what we are busy with.

We want to use the correct tool, for the job at hand. If increased connection, understanding and intimacy is what we are after, communication is the best tool for the job. If the erosion of connection, relationship, understanding and caring is what we are seeking, silence may be the better tool.

This entry was posted in Communication, Family Estrangement Topics and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Silence Means Goodbye?

  1. edward says:

    The last three words define my personal experiences and observations.

    Always Edward

    Like

  2. Toni says:

    Hi,I have definitely entered the silent zone when it comes to some of my family members.I have tried talking,I have tried compromise,it has only left me drained.
    The relationship is to toxic.All of the drama taking a tole on my health.I am at a peaceful place of goodbye.Closure never looked so good.

    Like

    • Fiona says:

      Hi Toni,

      Thanks for sharing a bit of your circumstances and for reading! When you have arrived at a place where relationship is no longer viable, silence can be the last resort and the healthy one. Where we get into trouble is using silence as a means of communicating, of wishing to let another person know “something” and have expectations that it is a continuation of communication, and not in fact, a cessation of it.I’m going to write a little more about this, so I will leave this thought to hang for consideration.

      Take care,
      Fiona

      Like

  3. Stephanie says:

    After increasingly disturbing and upsetting interactions with my parents, I finally mailed them (separate) letters explaining my wish to be left alone until I felt ready to re-establish contact. Not only have they continued trying to communicate with me, but I was also getting aggressive messages from a cousin who wanted to let me know how horrible I was.

    I’m not sure whether I wanted the silence to last as long as it has or not, but every time they try to contact me, I’m reminded that they are putting their wants, needs, and desires above my own, as they have for my entire life. It’s frustrating and it’s not a situation that I wanted to be in, because I aim to be a very direct person. But there is only so much directness I can have if they are denying and minimizing it.

    However, your post gives me a lot to think about and consider. I enjoy your blog, thank you for writing.

    Like

    • Fiona says:

      Hi Stephanie,

      Thanks so much for sharing some of your experience and for reading here! It sounds like you were seeking time and space to clarify your thoughts and feelings – and that you did the responsible thing with your parents, and let them know that. Taking a bit of a time out or breather can be a useful way of collecting thoughts and feelings and making decisions about what we want to see happen next. Taking space is undoubtedly more constructive than engaging in verbal warfare that does nothing to resolve anything.

      Taking such a time out, and doing so respectfully generally involves a couple of steps. The first is letting the other person/people know that we are doing it; “I am finding myself feeling really emotional right now when we speak. It’s really difficult for me to connect meaningfully when I am in this place.”

      The second step is giving the other person an idea when you will be willing to re-engage in communication; “I think I need a couple of weeks on my own, with no communication to get clear. I will contact you then and let you know when I am up for further discussion.”

      This is a way of establishing a boundary, as well as setting out clear terms of engagement.

      Like setting any boundary, it is inevitable that other people will have their own process around it. Sometimes people easily accept the limits we set, sometimes they push back for a time before they are able to accommodate the change of status quo. Sometimes they completely disregard the boundary. Regardless of what happens, it is all part of a process, and part of communication. I wrote a series of posts on boundaries and boundary setting awhile back. The My Boundaries, My Problem post, speaks a bit to this if you are interested.

      Take care,
      Fiona

      Like

  4. KJ says:

    I agree with you in principle — communication is a way of fixing, examining, moving towards, and gaining greater understand while silence is not. However, what about actions? I find that there are a lot of personalities who simply cannot talk about relationships (or any topic involving emotions) and that the most skilled people still hit brick walls with them. However, with such people, actions defining your boundaries can be the most helpful. So I think maybe there’s another tool in the mix: communicating with action, communicating with words, and silence.

    Like

    • Fiona says:

      Hi KJ,

      Thanks so much for sharing your thoughts. I couldn’t agree more that action is an essential part of communication. When our words say one thing, and our actions say another thing – we create all sorts of unnecessary drama and make it very difficult for people to understand what we are trying to communicate. This can happen for all sorts of reasons, but as I suggested to Stephanie in my reply above, communicating a boundary (or anything else) is a process – communication itself is a process, subject to give and take, back and forth refinement. Not many of us get communication right, perfectly, the first go. I suggested my posts on boundary setting (there are several of them) to further clarify this, and you might like to give them a read as well.

      Thinking About Boundaries
      From Boundary Setting To Power Tripping
      My Boundaries, My Problem
      Your Boundaries, My Problem?
      Boundaries: Not So Black and White?

      Thanks so much for reading here, your contribution is appreciated!

      Take care,
      Fiona

      Like

  5. Susan says:

    I tried every sort of communication with two of my siblings before I stopped communicating with them verbally. For years, I tried. I became the “whipping boy” for our parents’ mistakes and the hurts they inflicted on those two. Even then, I thought I might be able to help, and tried for a couple of years longer. One of them just plain stopped talking to me, and refused to respond to any initiatives I tried to take. The other one began to abuse me verbally. I spent a week thinking it over, then I closed the door and locked it. There might be a better way to deal with it, but it would need cooperation and willingness all around – and I don’t see that happening.

    Like

    • Fiona says:

      Hi Susan,

      Thanks for sharing a bit of your story and how you arrived at a place of silence. There is a time and place where we have done our level best to communicate and as you have said, there is not the cooperation and willingness within the relationship, to move the communication or relationship forward. This can be an immensely frustrating place when we are committed to improving and resolving things, and another person/people are not. Eventually withdrawing from communication is self care and necessary. Only we can decide when we get to that place, but when we do, we have to honour it.

      Take care,
      Fiona

      Like

      • Karen says:

        Hello Fiona,

        “Sometimes it’s unsafe to communicate,” and this quote, “We may find ourselves waiting on words, which may never come, staying hung up on relationships which are frozen in time through lack of intentional communication,” are what most resonate for me in this article. I would add that we may find ourselves waiting for acknowledgement or even signs that someone may feel remorseful or even empathy and understanding–waiting on those words, followed by actions never happens.

        When it came to my husband’s family, although I had awareness coping with their words/actions/behaviors–I was in over-my-head. The other problem I had was I did’t have anyone, even a friend to discuss this with. The people I was around tended to blame me for the problems. I understand that I chose self-care, because no one was interested in improving relationships–their interest was all about getting their way. I also believe that my sister-in-law and mother-in-law wanted me gone–actually all of their family. They would never admit such a thing, because they wouldn’t want to look “bad” in other people’s eyes or even their own, but their actions demonstrated it so thoroughly–they had and demonstrated no tolerance or empathy whatsoever. My current therapist now does say that they are very self-involved people and has come out and observed that my sister-in-law is a pretty extreme narcissist.

        What you say above to Susan is probably most applicable to my situation, especially the unsafe to communicate part. It is not that I didn’t try, or even try to encourage my husband to talk, stand up for himself or get into counseling, especially when behaviors in his family started to repeat in other relationships, which he fails to see or doesn’t want to see. He attracts similar types of people and the same issues start to play out. I wouldn’t want or desire any communication from them now, (my in-laws), as my husband would need to address his own issues and I simply no longer feel emotionally safe around him given that he also chose the status quo. Being in the position of the “scapegoat” is not healthy for me.

        As far as my own family goes I also chose self-care. It started with my eldest sister, who I always had issues with–even her physical abusive behaviors. I was again, just trying to protect myself. Both of my sisters, and mother, even my husband’s family disregard boundaries.

        “Only we can decide when we get to that place, but when we do, we have to honour it.”

        Most of the time I believe I honour it, but other times I can falter. I believe my husband’s choice to re-engage with them, on their terms and keeping the status quo intact created a lot of insecurity for me and now I’m left with sorting out my feelings and what I want to do. It’s created a lot of emotional pain for me.

        Like

  6. edward says:

    There is a sense of gratification, satisfaction, and even contentment(yes) at having done all one can to resolve situations. With this in hand, one can be pleased and relieved of further responsibility in the state of affairs, knowing they have fulfilled their responsibility to others and that the ball is now in the other’s court.

    The baggage, so to say, has been dumped and it is up to the other party to take action, and in the meantime, you can move on and get back on track to happiness.

    Always Edward

    Like

    • Fiona says:

      Hi Edward,

      I agree with you that when we have taken all the communication steps that we are able to and then leave it with the other person/people we can take a breath and step back. Communication is above all else, a means of gathering critical feedback about the quality of and commitment to the relationship.

      When we put out the energy to connect and engage within the relationship, and are greeted by a wall of silence, this is communication and feedback. How we interpret it is up for discussion, but regardless of the interpretation, there is a message – silence is intentional communication.

      Take care,
      Fiona

      Like

  7. Sue says:

    I guess… yes, I want this to be “goodbye.” It’s time I am honest with myself. I’m tired of feeling like I’m always defending myself. I’m tired of the lies. Of the blaming. I’m tired of feeling exhausted after trying to “fix” things for so long for both my husband and for his mother. I’m tired of filing in the void when there is an obvious lack. My husband does not want anything to do with his family until his mother apologizes for the hurts she caused HIM (and me, but he was more adamant about his own hurts).

    I’m tired of feeling like I’m always trying to be heard or understood or even tolerated. And the times when things were going well, I always wondered when I’d make a gaffe and be penalized for it. By telling them “I shouldn’t have to keep proving that I wanted to be a part of the family” and then being verbally attacked for having done so… I’m spent. I’m tired of crying every time I think about that night.

    My husband and I nearly divorced, and although this was NOT the primary factor it certainly weighed heavy on my mind that I would “free” of his family.

    I’m tired of defending our choices and our wants and our needs and tired of always feeling like I’m giving more than they are. Has his brothers every acknowledged any of our birthdays (there are four of us). Only once… and after that they called the house, drunk, late at night to talk about nothing in particular. Have they ever called us on Christmas? We don’t even have their phone numbers or addresses. The only time we hear from them is when they want to yell at my husband for hurting mom. Even without having all the facts.

    What am I doing this for? To appease somebody who will not acknowledge my pain? To make sure I sooth her so she will not flip out because her ideals were ruined, all because I made an unpopular decision to go to a job or to stay home and rest after being up for 36 hours straight?

    I could go on and on, and there are things she has said that are seared into my memory and evoke powerful feelings of sadness and rejection and feelings that I will never, ever be good enough to be held in high regard in her eyes, although she has done the same things to me and sometimes WORSE.

    I guess my silence means I am not going to be abused anymore.

    Sorry for ranting. It hurts. Still. But it’s so so very hard to be honest with myself about how things are and how i feel, and there is still a voice in my head that tells me I have no right to be angry because I brought it upon myself.

    “deep breath” This is what therapy is for. I’m about to cry. I do that a lot. I have severe depression and anxiety (GAD) and I’ve developed a fear of being around people too. I don’t just cry, I sob.

    Am I not worthy of comfort because they do not understand why I hurt? Am I not worthy of love? I know I am. I just wish they knew this too. I love my husband’s family, and the rejection from them for things that seem so petty and small just… burns.

    I need a hug.

    Like

    • Fiona says:

      Hi Sue,

      Sounds like you are doing lots of thinking, and feeling. Better out than in, as the saying goes. Have you thought about seeing a therapist for support? Sometimes professional support can make the difference between a long painful journey, and a shorter, albeit intensive one.

      You mention at the end of your comment that you love your husband’s family. I would ask why?

      Sending support and warm wishes your way.

      Fiona

      Like

      • Sue says:

        I am in therapy, kind of. I have a therapist but lately I am making excuses for seeing him because I’m embarrassed about something. I need to call him and make an appointment though. There are things I need to work on that I can’t do by myself.

        As for why I love them? Because I don’t have it in me to hate. Because I know they can be good people. Love isn’t enough to carry on a relationship though, and if I were talking to my best friend, I’d tell her that she’s better off without them. Yet, this woman gave my husband life, and made him the man he is, although I think a lot of it was unintentional. My niece and nephew I adore them to pieces. I don’t know why I love them. I wish I did.

        Like

    • edward says:

      Hello Sue

      You said this. “Am I not worthy of comfort because they do not understand why I hurt? Am I not worthy of love? I know I am. I just wish they knew this too. I love my husband’s family, and the rejection from them for things that seem so petty and small just… burns.

      I need a hug.”

      ————————————————

      I am feeling empathy of how backed up you must feel. I really also feel like I want to say something important about how you are being emotionally abused,

      &^%$^%&^*()_*(&()*&$%#$%^&*()&()*&$%#%^&*+_*(&(()+_)(*(&^%#$&)#@$#%^&^*&^*()#%$^&()*^(*)^(^)*^$%&()*^%*()&)&^%$@#$^#$^@$#%$%#@$#%$^&^*&(&)*&*&(*__

      I am shocked at how some of the details you describe are similar to another good woman I know. Damn.

      Only you can decide what is best for you, I can say it is an emotional turmoil these psychotic are causing you, through NO FAULT OF YOUR OWN. That does not even begin to address how your children and husband must feel.

      I would distance mysefl form such people. I am angry that the situation has placed a lot of pressure on your marriage…you do not need that, your children do not need that….you do not need that..

      I understand things here well enough to see that you are not at fault and these people have you on a never ending treadmill. )(*&&^&*)_(&_*(&%^$^&*&(^%$^*&%$#!@$#%$&*(^&%^$*(

      Understand that you ARE worthy of love, comfort, cherishment and so many other good things.

      I care about you and yours. I love and cherish yopu and yours. Be aware that you are a good woman, precious and cherished. I am sure others here feel the same way.

      Consider the hug you need facilitated by me, and there are others more bashful lined up as well. I would also like to hug your children and while I am not usually so inclined towards my gender, I would hug your huband as well.

      Always Edward

      Like

      • Sue says:

        Edward, please do not be angry with them. One of the reasons my MIL does not like me is because I would write her very intense and, yes, harsh emails. I guess my children have a split of me in them, whereas if I’m pushed far enough I’m like my daughter, but I’ll cry for days afterwards too. If she read this, she’d disagree. Her opinion of me isn’t very nice.

        If you asked my in-laws, it’s ALL my fault. I’m the one with issues. I’ve driven a wedge between my husband and his family. I’ve forced him to choose. Etc. Etc. Etc. During the first rift that lasted three years, I nagged him to no end to call his mother or send her a gift, card, etc. If she got anything at all, it was because of ME.
        This year, he did not want to send her a gift or card for her birthday, because she had forgotten mine. But I did, because it was “the right thing to do.” And I had picked up something for her earlier in the year that I thought she would like. Two weeks after she received her gift she sent me a birthday card and a letter stating that she had it on her counter but forgot to send it and then didn’t realize it was still on the counter until she found it. She didn’t want me to think I’d forgotten her. I sent a thank you note with “no worries” in an effort to assuage her concerns. My husband? Laughed at the letter and said, “Yeaaah, right, she just didn’t want to look like the bad one.”

        I’m at the point where I’ve realized this is HIS mother and HE needs to be the primary communicator here. The trouble comes when I think about my kids.

        Like

      • Sue says:

        Edward, at this point in time, I’m just emotionally (and even physically) exhausted. I’m tired of feeling like I’m the sole cause as well as the sole healer. I can’t do any more. I just can’t.

        MIL is famous for quoting her pastor in saying, “Those who want to be a part of the family should act like it.” I guess there is no rebuttal to this as in “Those who want you to be a part of the family should act like it.”

        The trouble is, I still am not sure how I am supposed to act, speak, or think in order to be a part of her family, and she has not “acted” like she wants to be a part of our family. I would even go so far as to assume she does not consider my husband’s family to be his wife and kids, but that his family is still his parents and siblings.

        Thank you for the hug.

        Like

    • silvia says:

      “I guess… yes, I want this to be “goodbye.” It’s time I am honest with myself. I’m tired of feeling like I’m always defending myself. I’m tired of the lies. Of the blaming. I’m tired of feeling exhausted after trying to “fix” things for so long

      My husband and I nearly divorced, and although this was NOT the primary factor it certainly weighed heavy on my mind that I would “free” of his family.”

      again Sue, it’s almost unbelievable how similar your situation is to mine… apart from the fact that in this I am in your husband’s shoes. your words speak for me, as I am tired too of everything. the fixing, the lies or untold things, the accusations…I am tired of living my life always afraid of making a mistake. as for the hug, yes, you deserve one, I could give it to you if I were there!

      Like

      • edward says:

        SIlvia, Sue, Karen, ALL OF YOU AND THOSE I DID NOT MENTION HERE NEED TO UNDERSTAND THAT THE PROBLEM IS NOT WITH ANY OF YOU…YOU DID NOTHING TO MERIT SUCH ABUSE…THE OTHER SIDE IS THE PROBLEM…

        Take that as the truth because it is…it is IMPORTANT to embrace that truth and try not to be beaten down.

        Always Edward

        Like

      • Sue says:

        Thank you for the hug Silvia. For your kind words as well! Truly appreciated!!!

        Like

      • Karen says:

        Sue and silvia,

        “My husband and I nearly divorced, and although this was NOT the primary factor it certainly weighed heavy on my mind that I would “free” of his family.”

        I’m still catching up on my reading of these threads…I did want to say that I can sadly very much relate to this situation too and your words could be mine.

        “I could go on and on, and there are things she has said that are seared into my memory and evoke powerful feelings of sadness and rejection…” I can relate to those feelings as well. It was not just what was said, but what was done–both actions and words. There was never any remorse, no apologies and no talking.

        ”I would even go so far as to assume she does not consider my husband’s family to be his wife and kids, but that his family is still his parents and siblings.” well I KNOW that my parents consider themselves above my husband, and are indeed offended for this…my mother in our arguments often complained that I chose to side with him and not with “my family”… when I replied that MY family WAS my husband, she was quite baffled, as such kind of thought had never crossed her mind…”

        This is my situation as well. I simply didn’t exist in their eyes–my husband’s family. I was someone who was competition. Everything was about them and their control and their chronic manipulation and side-taking. I stood up for my husband early on–in a situation that involved his sister manipulating other relatives to take sides (hers), so that she could get her way and that they would do the dirty work for her of pressuring him to cave in. So I was vilified after that. It was/is so very toxic. My husband though doesn’t stand up for himself and doesn’t want to rock-the-boat. It’s a hard situation to be in.

        “I guess my silence means I am not going to be abused anymore.”

        i think initially my silence meant the same. My husband said that they were not going to change–(always selfish, always controlling and always manipulative), and those are my words for their behaviors. I regret at times having any encounters with any of them. Behaviors like that do not make for enjoyable or happy relations.

        I regret both of your situations and can empathize as it is so very similar to my own.

        Like

  8. silvia says:

    you’re welcome sue, and I may add another quote of yours ” I would even go so far as to assume she does not consider my husband’s family to be his wife and kids, but that his family is still his parents and siblings.” well I KNOW that my parents consider themselves above my husband, and are indeed offended for this…my mother in our arguments often complained that I chose to side with him and not with “my family”… when I replied that MY family WAS my husband, she was quite baffled, as such kind of thought had never crossed her mind…

    Like

    • Sue says:

      I guess it’s hard to let go of what used to be and embrace was is. That said, I think it’s time I let go of all of my pent-up feelings and just move on with my life.

      Like

  9. silvia says:

    Edward, thanks for your words, and yes, I know the truth and embrace it…still, it’s sad to be in this situation. I love my parents and I know they love me, and sometimes I can’t get over the fact that they are so stuck in their self rightneousness to prevent any compromise to take place.
    I miss the feeling of having my family of origin backing me up, but I also know that I don’t need to have that back up at all costs…not when the cost is my self-respect

    Like

  10. edward says:

    Sue, I know you feel exhausted, and Silvia, I read things here from different women but the problems are so similar Both of you know a disconnect with the real problem, which is identifiable as the OTHER PEOPLE, is in order.

    You are both great gals.

    Always Edward

    Like

  11. Lori says:

    Sue, Silvia — I can completely identify and empathize. In so many of these situations, I feel like I could turn around and someone will yell at “smile, you’re on Candid Camera”. This is because of the ease with which relatives who know of our situation and how my brother, sister and Mom have viciously turned on me and my family completely embrace them and call them “sweet”. This is so hard to stomach because “sweet” is just about the last adjective I can imagine using to describe their behavior. It just makes me question so much. I guess I halfway expect other people to jump in and be a voice of neutrality or reason but perhaps that is expecting too much. Thoughts on how to manage unmet expectations?

    Like

    • edward says:

      Lori, I see any here have done all they can, and yet things are not changing so they are moving on. The best feeling one can have is to set the record straight, communicate you love them, and then leave for YOUR OWN GOOD. They will have NOTHING to whine about, it will be alll their fault.

      You are another one in the same boat…a ifne woman with tioxic amily members.

      Always Edward

      Like

  12. Kay Paluszynski says:

    Fiona,
    I love your site and blog. It has helped me to try and see things from everyones point of view. I come from a family that while we may not agree we can argue and never feel threatened. My husband’s family is not like that at all. My Father in Law has not spoken to his siblings since they were young. He has a disagreement with my husband’s younger brother and they’ve not spoken in 27 years. 5 years ago my Father in Law has a disagreement with my husband and I and has disowned my husband, myself and our children.
    My Father in Law has rejected my husband. Yet my husbands sisters think he should still call him. (He has done that before and was met with silence on the other end of the line)
    Silence is in fact a form of communication indeed!
    I look forward to your posts.

    Like

    • Fiona says:

      Hi Kay,

      Thank you for your comment and for reading here, I’m so pleased you are finding this site a useful resource! It is very difficult for those who have grown up with active dysfunction to make sense of it and to find healthy, life affirming ways to manage it. I can only imagine how crazy such family dysfunction must appear to someone who has never experienced it! It must seem like all the hooks that draw us inward to craziness, are so ridiculous and should be so easily dispatched.

      When we are encultured to craziness, we often cannot see it or imagine any different ways of managing it. We are well and truly hooked! Yet we are not destined to be fish on the crazy hook forever. We can learn to more clearly see what is happening, and we can most certainly learn to do things differently, make healthier choices and hop off the hook.

      Your husband’s sisters get to decide how they are going to engage with and manage their father and their relationships with him. Your husband gets the same freedom. The only person who can deny him this freedom is himself. I am sure your support is valued and appreciated!

      Take care
      Fiona

      Like

  13. Fiona,

    Lady…you are one smart cookie and I have to say that I am learning so very much from being here and also learning how to apply the knowledge that I have gained. To your readers and to those who post…thank you for sharing. I was sent here by a friend of mine that I admire a great deal. I’m forever thankful to her, you and your posters. ❤

    My situation, is in all probability not unique, yet it certainly does feel that way. I know that I deal with a great many complex issues physically and as for mentally….I've had counselling for over 8 years now and at this time, I am finishing up with her. I am still not entirely sure I can do what I know that I need to but I'm going to give it a try.

    I set boundaries with my parents and brother when I finally said that I was not going to do what was "expected" of me in their eyes. I walked away, actually I moved the furthest away from them all that I could get beyond moving to Mexico!. I moved from Northern Ontario, Canada to southern Texas, U.S.A.! That was a pretty radical solution I know but I just lost it when they chose to believe my abusive ex-husband over myself AND my 2 girls. No contact for me but I gave my girls the tools they needed to protect themselves when in contact with them. It was their choice whether or not to have contact.

    I only contacted them to apprise them of my medical condition and to tell them that the girls would be staying with their stepfather until they chose to leave. The doctor told myself and my new husband (at the time) that I didn't have but 24 hours to live. I actually managed to stave off enough pain in my back that I almost died…it is termed the only true back emergency in medicine . I am certainly a lot less stubborn these days. THAT scared the ever loving s**t out of me!

    In return, I expected nothing. My father tracked me down through his law enforcement friends. I wasn't trying to hide…I just had to get away from them all so that they could not reach me. I believe that my father did this because he finally realized that I wasn't going to be controlled any more. He died in April of 2013 and I miss him greatly. My mother, I still stay back away from her because my only sibling died about a year before my father. I also didn't get along with him either due to his deceit, meanness and inability to face truth.

    I do speak to my mother on occasion but mainly I get any info that I need from my oldest daughter. For some strange reason, when I raised my girls, I managed to give them "life tools" that they have utilized very well in regards their relationships. I have learned that I can love a person and NOT like their response or actions.

    In the end, I know I still have a ways to go but I'm getting there…slowly but surely! Again, thank you so very, very much. *hugs*

    Like

    • Fiona says:

      Hi Barbara,
      Thank you so much for your lovely words, and for taking the time (and risk) of sharing a bit of your story with us! I’m so glad you found E-stranged through your friend! As you move through your estrangement journey, I’d love to hear what comes up for you. Best wishes on your continued healing, physically and emotionally!

      Warm regards,
      Fiona

      Like

Leave a comment